This is the title of a wee booklet I am reading from Day One Publishers. A friend of mine had a vast array of tracts and mini-books that she collects, she uses them as a ministry to share with visitors to her home and there is something for everyone!

This title jumped out at me and we had a bit of a giggle about it! I have several foodie friends, some are overweight, most are slim. You can’t always tell a ‘foodie’ by their weight.

So what is a foodie? Slashfood.com defines a foodie as “someone who has an ardent or refined interest in food.” I wonder if it could also be defined as someone who is obsessed by food… Every time you switch the TV on there are numerous options for food programmes, I do feel that as a nation, we are obsessed with food, it’s ironic that this is happening in a time when charities that offer free food are inundated with requests. Even in the relatively wealthy area that I live,  food charities have experienced low stocks because of the demand for food.

Nevertheless, if we obsess about anything above the Lord we are guilty of idolotry – whether we obsess about food or whether we obsess about our weight or something else, our focus is not in the correct place. God’s Word tells us to do everything to His glory. 1 Corinthians 10:31.

As part of my CDP, I was considering adding a weight-loss section on my blog but I really don’t want to be consumed with food and calories and points or low fat, low carb etc. I want to eat to the glory of God. I want to serve my King in every area of my life.

One thing that really struck me when reading this booklet was the point made about drunkenness. ‘This feeds the flesh which produces sinful deeds and negative consequences’ (p51). Living the Spirit-filled life involves letting the Word of Christ richly indwell you (Colossians 3:16).

The similarities between overeating and drunkenness are evident; both have negative consequences on the body and are exampes of being out of control. In Galatians 5 16-17 we read
   ‘But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh. For the flesh sets its desire against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; for these are in opposition to one another, so that you may not do the things that you please.

As we battle with our sin, may we be mindful of walking in the Spirit – our leader is always near. He can help us to overcome, I know that he will help me in all circumstances when I submit to Him. Praise Him that His mercies are new every day and that because of His great love, we can be called children of God. We can go to Him and bring our sin in exchange for salvation and righteousness.

Shine brightly
Julie

