During my ladies meeting this week we considered that our affliction comes from, or is permitted by God. In 2 Corinthians 4 v 17 we are told that ‘our affliction is but for a moment.’

I know that for some of you, affliction has been an enormous part of your lives, or maybe your entire marriage, our God reassures us that our affliction is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory. That is incredible, to think that our affliction is working for us.

Paul himself knew all to well what it meant to be afflicted, even up to the point of death. Through his affliction and tears he was moved to love others deeply… Read 2 Corinthians 2 v 4: for out of much affliction and anguish of heart I wrote to you, with many tears, not that you should be grieved, but that you might know the love which I have so abundantly for you.

Have you ever noticed a deeper compassion for others when you are going through or have been through great trials? I can certainly testify that I can relate far more to those who have miscarried, those who have been made homeless, those who are sick, young mums who are exhausted because I have known all of these trials first hand. I haven’t always been able to thank God during my trials but His grace has carried me through so that in time I can thank Him.

I can recall many occasions when the Lord has graciously used people to speak ‘a Word in season‘ or demonstrate His love through practical gifts and I just know that much support for me was prompted by their own past experiences and trials.
In verse 6 of 2 Corinthians 1 Paul states that if we are afflicted it is ‘for the consolation and salvation of others which is effective for enduring the same sufferings which we also suffer’. The verse continues with a message of hope: ‘And our hope for you is steadfast, because we know that as you are partakers of the sufferings, so also you will partake of the consolation’.

Dear sister in christ, if you are facing deep trials or despair – remember that you will partake in the great conslation. His Word promises. The Lord is faithful to His promises, if He went back on His Word the whole universe would cease to be. He does not lie. He is our ever present help in trouble. Cling to His promises today. Lift your eyes and see Him who will carry you through and use you mightily in His kingdom.

 May we be moved to pray more, have a clearer view of the purpose of affliction and recognise that our Lord is the great helper and healer. When we are on our knees, we can find comfort and solace in One who never turns us away. He will be our strength in the hour of need.

2 Corinthians 1 v 4 gives us a reason for our affliction ‘that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble’.

Shine brightly

Julie

