Friday, a day to turn our thoughts to family and friends. The weekend is upon us and I begin to ponder the weekend. I plan and type the church notice sheet, think about who is coming for lunch on Sunday and wonder if I am on Sunday School this week.

Today is slightly different in that I held a coffee morning in aid of the cancer charity Macmillan. Generous ladies brought baking and joined me for tea, coffee and cake. We laughed, shared our hearts and got to know one another a little better. However, I am very mindful of those who will this weekend, find that their thoughts are drawn to the matters of life.

Whilst I am pondering what to cook for Sunday lunch, others will be wondering if their loved one will be joining them for Christmas lunch this year….

Or as I plan on spending time with my teenagers, parents around our nation draw near to theirs by taking up a room in the hospice because their child’s life is flitting away…
Every

single

moment

is

precious

and

priceless…

I turn my thoughts to those who are wondering what happens to them after they take their last breath on earth. For the Christian, their next breath is taken in a new life with Christ.

This assurance is given in John 3 v 16:

I am the way, the Truth and the life, no one comes to the Father except through me.

And in 1 John 5 v 12

12 Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life.

I pray that those who face imminent death trust and believe in Jesus who paid the price for their sin, He took the punishment that was rightly theirs. He sends out a free invitation to all, ‘believe on me and you will have eternal life.’

Generally speaking, we do not enjoy speaking about death; it is a scary prospect for most people and yet it is the one thing that we all have in common, none of us can avoid it.

Are you prepared to meet with God? Christian, have you revealed God to your friends?

fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41 v 10

As we think about the lovely moments with family this weekend, spare a thought and a prayer for those who are cherishing every moment because they have just days to live.

May the Lord direct us to serve those who are facing bereavement, pain, loss. Jesus commands us to mourn with those who mourn and to weep with those who weep. The statistics show that 1 in 3 with contract cancer at some time in their lives.

Contribute financially if you are able but also be prepared to ask God how you and your friends can be made ready for heaven. For those who are ‘in Him,’ death is the beginning of new life.

He will wipe away every year from their eyes.

Shine brightly
Julie

20120928-144943.jpg

