20121005-072226.jpg

Now wouldn’t that be amazing!

Seriously, if only it was that simple.

I have been taking a keen interest in the Presidential elections, the wives bake off, incredible.

All eyes are on the candidates. Every word scrutinised and body language discussed by pristine presenters all over the tv channels.

It would seem that voters in the U.S are persuaded by debates. How articulate and clever the contenders are with words… Dangerous ground surely?

Proverbs 17 v 7 reads:

Eloquent lips are unsuited to a godless fool—
how much worse lying lips to a ruler!

It would seem that eloquence is the primary requisite in the eyes of U.S voters. But what is the point of eloquence in a leader if he is without God?

God searches the heart. If only we would do the same…

Just recently one of my children asked me which of our cats is my favourite. I didn’t have to think too long.

‘Socks’ I answered emphatically.

As I thought about it I added:

‘BUT, if I was blind it would be Pablo.’

Mmmmm, why?

Because Socks is physically beautiful, grey, chunky and soft, although he never sits on anyone’s lap. Pablo on the other hand is white with black patches, he is not so pretty but is extremely affectionate.

How we base our decisions on what we see. Guys betray God because they see pretty girls, they marry unbelievers, become unequally yoked and all too often it ends in tears.

People often go into debt because they are tricked by what is now called ‘iCandy’. Visual treats for eyes, nice cars, fancy furnishings and such like.

Presidents are elected by how they look and sound, more often than not though, their hearts tell a different story.

We need discernment in choosing godly leaders, we get this by going to God’s Word and praying.

1 Hear me, my God, as I voice my complaint;
protect my life from the threat of the enemy.
2 Hide me from the conspiracy of the wicked,
from the plots of evildoers.
3 They sharpen their tongues like swords
and aim cruel words like deadly arrows.

Does that sound familiar?

Verse 6:

They plot injustice and say,
“We have devised a perfect plan!”
Surely the human mind and heart are cunning.

Without God, the heart is corrupt, self seeking and proud. It’s plans are not formed before the counsel of the Holy Spirit. There is only one end; corruption, failure and a fall from grace.

But God will shoot them with his arrows;
they will suddenly be struck down.
8 He will turn their own tongues against them
and bring them to ruin;
all who see them will shake their heads in scorn.

When listening to the TV presenters tentatively dissecting the candidates performances, I actually felt some sympathy for Obama. His once articulate speech gained him the respect of people all over the world. However, his opponent monopolised the latest debate to the point that Obama’s words failed him. Without God, everything comes to nothing.

I don’t know the hearts of these men but we can usually tell by examining the fruit. We can pray for God to grant wisdom, show the contenders for what they really are and give Christians the courage to speak the truth, even if it means they become unpopular.

I will leave you with something that we all need to meditate upon.

Shine brightly
Julie

20121005-081147.jpg