Tags

, ,

20121011-151157.jpg

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Matthew 11 v 28

Wherever you find yourself today, may you find rest at the feet of Jesus… Maybe you are going through a period of immense busyness, overseeing church projects, having to be hospitable as well as raising a family and helping your husband! Many of us go through periods of busyness that seem endless with little sight of reprieve coming our way. The overwhelming sense of having to spin too many plates can, in time leave us fatigued.

Sometimes Pastors and their wives go through what seems like periods of barrenness, wondering if their ministry has any real direction and seeing no growth, in fact things seem to be in decline.

Wherever you are it is important to focus upon the God of your calling. If we labour without the Lord, we labour in vain.

If you feel that your burden is heavy or that the Lord has left the building, metaphorically speaking, then maybe it would help to seek spiritual refreshment.

Verse 29:

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me…

What can we learn from Jesus? Everything!
He came to serve – the greatest in the kingdom are the servants! Those who humble themselves are the greatest in the kingdom. Do not grow weary of doing good.

You may ask… Well, I am serving constantly but I am tired, how can I continue?

Remember in Galatians 6 v 9

Do not grow weary of doing good, for in due season, you will reap a harvest, if you do not give up.

Keep your eyes fixed on the goal, the Lord is true to His Word. In due season you WILL reap a harvest.

Psalm 62 v 5-6

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I shall not be shaken.”

Did you catch the last part? I shall not be shaken! When our hope is in God alone, He is our fortress. We are protected by our rock and salvation. Nothing can come our way that is outside of God’s will. Since He knows the beginning from the end we will be wise to find rest in Him. Go to His Word, pray and meditate on the scriptures. Do not leave His presence, linger in praise and worship and you will find rest for your soul.
Shine brightly
Julie

