Tags

, ,

20121201-102716.jpg
Phew, we made it!

Do you ever get to the end of the week and wonder how you managed to do everything?? This time last week, I confess I was looking forward to many things, lovely events… At the same time I was feeling a little overwhelmed. The week brought many blessings but also a lot of responsibilities. I forgot a few things this week and also couldn’t find time to do some things that I would have liked to have done; it probably means I took on too much or I wasn’t as organised as I could have been!

I wrote a list of my ‘things to be done’ and realise that due to many different regular commitments, some more recent temporary commitments, plus one off events – 3 baptisms, another church event; my schedule was overloaded. I am so thankful to the Lord for getting me through but I am also on ‘high alert’ for the coming weeks leading up to Christmas.

My plan is to ‘plan in’ time off, a time to be together with our family. The tendency is to see an empty slot on the calendar and when someone asks if I am free, I respond with ‘yes, Wednesday at 11.00am’. The problem with that is then I begin to neglect the
more important things, like my family!

Confession time: I put too much pressure on myself. How do I know this? Well, because my husband tells me I do. He can be so liberating when I get to the end of the day and say ‘oh, I didn’t send a card to ****’ ‘No, you didn’t send a card but you did do x, y and z and several other letters too!

I must remember this season to delight in the Christ child that came in a manger, He was sent for me! I want to fill our home with the wonder and awe of a Saviour that cleanses us from sin, may our hearts be turned to Him. I am praying for opportunities to share the good news of this baby that came to transform the world and our way of thinking. Oh Lord, let me not be too enthralled with ribbons and paper, may I be inspired by ‘the wonders of His love’.

My verse for December:

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Romans 12 v 2.

I really hope and pray that as you read this, if you too are feeling overwhelmed or distracted with tinsel and turkey (these are all lovely additions to the season), that you linger for a while at the feet of Jesus. Pray for His will to be done in your life during the lead up to Christmas – and forevermore…

Shine brightly
Julie

