Tags

, ,

20121212-104545.jpg
Please give a big cheer for the 'S' word – no, not that one!

Which word do I mean?

Submission.

Mmmmmm. I wonder how you are responding to that joyful jewel!

Submission is defined as:

To give over or yield to the power or authority of another.

What, no tyrannical husband demanding power and authority?

No.

What, no man expecting his wife to be a doormat?

Er, nope!

Why is it when women hear the word ‘submission’ they will often hastily retort with something like ‘if you knew my husband, ex husband, boyfriend, bully, useless-wet-lettuce’ then you would not expect me to submit!

Eventually their normal colour returns, they unclench their jaws and acknowledge that, yes, that might be what the bible says….. But…

So, why is it that some Christian woman acknowledge that the bible says that they are to submit but they don’t have to ‘do’ it because they have a valid reason to justify their disobedience?

In Colossians 3 v 18 we read:

Wives, submit to your own husbands as is fitting in the Lord.

Ok, so let’s take a look at this second aspect of the verse – as is fitting in the Lord…

If your husband asks you to do something that is against God, as revealed in His Word, then that is the only credible ‘get out clause’.

Submission isn’t a nasty word in the biblical sense. However, our society attaches such negative connotations that the word becomes synonymous with a dithering wife who is down-trodden by a slob of a husband.

Submission is wilful. It is an act of worship. It entrusts itself to the Lord. It recognises that it is perfectly ok to have an ‘overseer’, it stems from a love for God, it recognises that public opinion changes from day to day but God’s Word stands forever. There is mutual submission in a godly marriage.

I am not afraid of the ‘S’ word. I choose to submit because although I could fight tooth and nail with my husband; I could mince him with words, I could manipulate him with my emotions, however I choose to honour him and my God by wilfully submitting to my husband.

I love him.

I love God.

His recipe for marriage in the home is born from One who created and defines the family. He loves me and can see far greater than I can, let’s face it, I don’t hold the same views on many things as I did even just 10 years ago.

I choose to entrust my life to One who never fails. If the world’s recipe for marriage and family is so great why are there more divorces than ever before? We all hate the way politicians conduct themselves and yet we trust them to make crucial decisions about marriage. Please excuse me from following them, I do not trust anyone who spews anti-Christian filth and I certainly won’t be changing my views based on their results. Society is broken – I choose God’s way, it is beautiful.

As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord…

Shine brightly
Julie

