Tags

,

20130108-232911.jpg
Don’t you think it is incredible when you read scripture, maybe that you have read a zillion times before but
This.
Time.
It.
Is.
Different…

Tears flowed as I began to imagine the sheer agony of impending suffering… Jesus, pleading that He might be spared punishment by horrific suffering leading to death.

‘Take this cup from Me’ Jesus asked the Father…

At that very moment, the Father took preference of my need for forgiveness. He took preference of you and me over His own dear, perfect and sinless Son.

And yet, with unrelenting faithfulness Jesus adds ‘not My will, but Your will be done’.

This compelling image from scripture moves me to consider the cost of my faith. It cost me nothing and yet it cost Him everything. God the Father would say no to Jesus in order to save the sinner?!

How humbling that the only One who ever walked this earth and remained sinless became a sacrifice for me.

Here I am, humbled by your majesty,
Covered by your grace so free.
Here I am, knowing I’m a sinful man,
Covered by the blood of the lamb.

Now I’ve found the greatest love of all is mine,
Since You laid down Your life,
The greatest sacrifice.

May God bless you as you seek Him…
Shine brightly
Julie

