Tags

I have spent the last week in bed with flu, that means a lot of time spent thinking and praying!

I began reading 1 Kings; as I arrived at chapter 3 I read:

5 At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon during the night in a dream, and God said, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you.”

6 Solomon answered, “You have shown great kindness to your servant, my father David, because he was faithful to you and righteous and upright in heart. You have continued this great kindness to him and have given him a son to sit on his throne this very day.

7 “Now, Lord my God, you have made your servant king in place of my father David. But I am only a little child and do not know how to carry out my duties. 8 Your servant is here among the people you have chosen, a great people, too numerous to count or number. 9 So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong. For who is able to govern this great people of yours?”

Do you see how different Solomon was compared with today’s leaders? With all sincerity of heart his priority was to serve God as he governed the people of Israel. It is evident from the lives of our politicians that the vast majority of them seek to serve their own lusts and worldly desires, they seek a morality that is based upon flawed human opinion which inevitably fails…

Just consider the education system for a moment or two; they [seem to] make progress, promises and install new systems and yet they repeatedly harken after good old fashioned values.

Most of the ‘old fashioned values’ were intrinsically based upon the teachings and principles from the scriptures, without God’s mandate the plans of man come to nothing…

Solomon however, knew that he had his limitations, he humbly sought the Lord for all wisdom.

Each one of us could learn many things from Solomon, he was thankful to God for showing great mercy to his Father, David.

He acknowledged that God blesses those who walk in faithfulness.

He knew his limitations as he told God that he didn’t know how to go about his duties (NIV v 7).

He recognised that he was serving God’s people.

And finally he chose spiritual wealth over earthly riches.

God went on to bless Solomon with great wisdom but He also rewarded him, because:

11…you have asked for this and not for long life or wealth for yourself, nor have asked for the death of your enemies but for discernment in administering justice, 12 I will do what you have asked. I will give you a wise and discerning heart, so that there will never have been anyone like you, nor will there ever be. 13 Moreover, I will give you what you have not asked for—both wealth and honor—so that in your lifetime you will have no equal among kings. 14 And if you walk in obedience to me and keep my decrees and commands as David your father did, I will give you a long life.

God always blesses the faithful, seek God’s heart for whatever decisions you face. He will grant you great wisdom, just ask Him.

I read a quote this week, please allow me to share it:

God speaks to us through His Word, we speak to God through prayer.

We need to pray for discernment…

In the book of James we are instructed to ask God for what we need, these things must be from a genuine desire to find answers from Him. We can find the answers when we diligently seek Him.

We find can speak to Him in prayer (at any time), and we will hear Him as we read His Word.

I will finish with a quote from ‘Open Doors’:
“I wonder what would happen if we treated our BIBLE like we treat our MOBILE PHONE? What if we carried it around everywhere we went? What if we flipped through it throughout the day? What if we went home to get it if we forgot it? What if we received messages from the text? What if we couldn’t live without it? What if we gave it to kids as gifts? What if we used it in an emergency?”

Shine brightly
Julie

