Tags

, ,

20130213-231020.jpg

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. Surely you desire truth in the inner parts; you teach me wisdom in the inmost place. Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. Amen.

[PSALM 51:1-2,6,10-12]

This heartfelt prayer found in the Psalms echoes the voice of the saints. I need God’s mercy every day and I receive it. Not because I am worthy but because He desires to bless me with it. Jesus’ mercy does not run out.

An appropriate response I feel is surely ‘help me to be merciful’, help me to love and forgive the people that fall short of my expectations. I long for a pure heart but sin lurks in every crevice… Am I too dirty for Christ? No, no-one is too far, too dirty to be out of His reach. I know this full well, I know that the heart of man is evil but the love of God is perfect.

I am so incredibly thankful for His mercy, let me give it in abundance just as He does for me every hour of every day.

I am thankful for the joy of my salvation, my God is overflowing with mercy for me and for you! There is nothing that can separate us from the love of God, whatever sin befalls us we can come afresh to the One who delights in our prayers. We can confess our misgivings and find forgiveness, unlimited grace and mercy is ours.

Pray He will search the hearts of His children and show us any wicked way in our hearts and as we seek forgiveness, may we be granted mercy for ourselves and mercy to be shed upon others.

During this time of preparation seek the mind of Christ. Ask Him to cleanse you afresh and you will know a closer and deeper walk with Him at the end of the Lenten period.

Shine brightly, walk humbly
Julie

