Tags

, ,

20130418-135142.jpg
Upon reflection, many of my spiritual ‘growth spurts’ have occurred following some serious pruning. I think if trees had voices you would hear three things when being pruned! Humour me for a moment!

  • The first sound would be – ‘Ouch!’
  • Pruning hurts. It hurts when the Lord prunes away the dead wood from our lives. The things or people that are not enhancing our Christian walk can often be pruned away, if this comes in form of an argument, through redundancy or being stolen – it hurts.

    No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful.

    Hebrews 12 v 11.

  • The next sound, I’m sure would be ‘stop!’
  • How often do we say ‘I can’t take much more’ – ‘enough is enough!’ To be hurt once or twice is painful and makes us guarded creatures, often this leads to becoming more sensitive in anticipation of the next snip. We become afraid and avoid certain people or situations. Jesus’ answer to fear is to love more! What remarkable insight!

    There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

    1 John 4:18
    And finally I imagine that a well pruned tree might say

  • ‘Ah, I see. The pruning was necessary to produce this beautiful, valuable fruit.’
  • No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

    Hebrews 12 v 11.

    Pruning is necessary to prepare us for heaven. When you have your next quiet time, ask the Lord to help you to deal with pruning in a way that you remain faithful. It’s painful but we can trust that God is working for us through this season of pruning, His love never fails.
    Shine brightly
    Julie
    It’s wonderful to see from my stats that I have visitors from all over the world, Indonesia, America, Australia, Jamaica and many more. I would love it if you would say hi to me and let me know how you found my blog. Thank you so much.

